Alberta Primetime panel: Supreme-ly absent

Readers of my blog will know I have faithfully appeared on Alberta Primetime’s Wednesday crime panel these past few weeks, even though I’ve had to miss two do-or-die games involving my beloved Canadiens during their improbable NHL playoff run. (I may not have that problem by this time next week, but I’d rather not dwell on that unpleasantness quite yet….)

Anyway, I mention this because I will be flying solo in Calgary for this week’s installment: apparently my usual cohort, defence lawyer David Andrews, thinks arguing a case in front of the Supreme Court of Canada is more important. The nerve! I suppose I could say “Good luck,” but, then again, he IS a defence lawyer…. Seriously though, it’s quite a feather in his cap and I’d be remiss if I didn’t offer my kudos. I’m looking forward to hearing all about it upon his return to the show.

On to this week’s panel, then, which will rely, then, on the astute insights of consultant and former Edmonton police chief Fred Rayner and defence lawyer Ed O’Neill on the following topics:

  • A proposal by federal Public Safety Minister Vic Toews to reinstate “rape” as a distinct offence in the Criminal Code. The term was struck from the books in 1983 and rape is now prosecuted under the broader offence of sexual assault.
  • Reports from Calgary police that gangs are recruiting children, and not just targeting the typical teenage demographic.

(Alberta Primetime airs live at 7 p.m. MDT on Access TV: Channel 13 in Calgary; Channel 351 on Bell TV; Channel 267 on Shaw Direct/Star Choice. You can visit the show’s segment archive to view past discussions about crime and other topics.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Public appearances

Leave a Reply

